Is possession of Suboxone a felony in Florida?
Possession (with intent) of less than 14 grams is a second-degree felony, up to 15 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine. Note: For all types of illegal prescription drug charges, the penalties are higher if you sold or distributed near schools, places of worship, community parks, or daycare.
What degree felony is possession of a controlled substance in Florida?
Is drug paraphernalia a felony in Florida?
In Florida, the crime of Possession of Drug Paraphernalia is a First Degree Misdemeanor and punishable by up to one (1) year in jail, one (1) year of probation, and a $1,000 fine.
How do you prove intent to distribute?
Under this element, the government must prove what the person possessing the drugs was planning to do with them. Because a government prosecutor can’t get inside the mind of an accused person, intent has to be proven by the surrounding circumstances.
How do you prove a drug is distributed?
In order to be legally convicted of the crime of drug distribution, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt the following “elements” of the crime: You knowingly possessed an illegal drug or controlled substance; and. You did so with the intent to sell, deliver or distribute the substance illegally.
What is the difference between trafficking and intent to distribute?
What is the difference between “trafficking” and “intent to distribute” drugs? Both offenses involve the intent to distribute illegal drugs, but the laws against trafficking specify certain amounts of drugs. The laws on possession with intent to distribute do not specify any minimum quantities.
Is trafficking worse than distribution?
Generally, drug trafficking charges carry more severe penalties than drug distribution. If one is caught in possession of a very large amount of drugs, or is caught transporting drugs across state lines, they are more likely to be charged with drug trafficking.
What does intent to distribute mean?
The “possession with intent to distribute” means to possess with intent to deliver or transfer possession of a controlled substance to another person, with or without any financial interest in the transaction.
How do you beat a drug sale charge in California?
The following are some examples of defenses that could help you beat your drug charges:
- The drugs weren’t yours, and you were unaware that they were in your possession.
- Someone set you up.
- The lab made errors.
- The police did not follow proper procedures.
- You were illegally searched.